Feelings: do I have them or not?

I am currently watching an episode of Girls (how I’ve spent the majority of this week) and it’s an episode where Hannah is not at all upset about her editor and friend passing away. Everyone around her thinks that she’s a sociopath and can’t believe the fact that the only thing she is concerned about is if her book deal still stands. This episode got me thinking about the way that I handle my own emotions. I do so in one of two ways. The first being that I feel everything. I feel so much that it drives me crazy and I can’t think straight. The second way being that I feel absolutely nothing at all. It’s not even like I feel numb to some things, I literally feel nothing at all. I go from one end of the spectrum to the other. Sometimes I even feel nothing about things like relationships with people that I’m close with, personal matters that I should be more concerned about, death, etc. And then there are times when little things that shouldn’t bother me at all make me feel like it’s the end of the world; someone not replying to a text, a change to plans, a comment someone makes. I don’t know if I’m crazy or I just haven’t gotten my emotions figured out yet, but I’m still trying to figure that part out.

Leave a comment