autumn is here

My sister and I were talking on the phone the other day and we were discussing how we both start to feel somewhat sad and sentimental every time the seasons change or if there’s just a big life change in general. It’s something that I’ve felt for as long as I can remember and it’s such a strong feeling that it affects my life for weeks after the change starts to set in. The change we were specifically talking about was the change of seasons from summer to autumn. She lives in Chicago and I go to school in a Southern Indiana town but the change for both of us was very sudden. The days have gotten shorter and cooler, and the leaves are starting to change color and fall. I love this time of year. I love the rusty oranges and reds and browns of fall. I love the food and hot apple cider on a cold rainy morning. I love wearing big sweaters that are comfortable enough to sleep in. It sounds corny but I really love everything about this season. I think it goes back to how excited my mom and I would get when I was little for Halloween time. Autumn makes me think of her. The colors, the foods, the smells. Everything. She loves it all. She used to make apple pies and keep apple cider with cinnamon sticks in the crock pot all the time during this time of year. She’d decorate every inch of our house with Halloween decorations and keep bowls of candy corn and candy pumpkins on our dining room table and I’d eat a handful every afternoon when I got home from school. This time of year always makes me happy even when things aren’t always going smoothly in my life. I’m just waiting for the sad from the change to pass so I can enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

