you could say i’m a little unconventional

tumblr_nooipeZnAo1r630xzo1_1280Whenever I tell people that I don’t really want to have children one day, they act like something is wrong with what I’m saying or that something is wrong with me. But the truth is, it’s just really not a desire of mine or something that I see benefiting my life. When I told my mom this about a year or two ago, all she could tell me was how selfish I was. But I don’t care. I want to live my life to the fullest on my own, traveling, and not having kids hold me back from doing whatever I want whenever I want. I think that being a mom is a beautiful thing and I love each and everyone one of my nieces and nephews, but kids just aren’t for me. If I end up meeting someone and falling in love, I know that this could be a huge dilemma. And who knows, maybe I will meet someone and decide that I do want to have a child with them. But at this point in my life, that’s not on the agenda. I just really hate that it’s looked down upon for a woman to not want to have kids. It’s just not everyone’s cup of tea.

2 thoughts on “you could say i’m a little unconventional

  1. I’m in the same boat. I never want kids. Thankfully, my boyfriend and I are on the same page. My parents are denial, and are constantly telling me that I’m going to. It’s actually very aggravating. My decision to have or not have kids is completely up to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You have plenty of time to make that decision. Live your life the way you want too! I love your blog, I’ve followed you and I can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

