Day 2: Where do you want to be in 1o years?

As I’m starting my senior year of college, my future and what I’m actually going to do with my life have both been something that I’ve been thinking about all of the time lately. Ideally, this is what my life in 10 years would look like:

In 10 years, I’ll be 32. I hope to be living in another city, probably Chicago, and to have a nice apartment with high ceilings and walls that are full windows overlooking the city. Hopefully by that time I will be engaged or at least have a serious boyfriend. Although, I do not see myself being married or having children by that point. I hope that whatever job I find after college, that I’m successful enough in it to be able to travel when I want and to afford a moderate lifestyle in the city.

This post is a little challenging for me, because although the future is something that I think about A LOT, I still don’t know exactly what I want out of it. I think that what happens in my life in the next year or two will definitely determine a lot of that for me. In the past 6 months or so, I’ve grown a lot as a person, and everything that I thought that I wanted for myself has changed. Like I said in the last post, I’m trying to go with the flow at this point in my life. I want to take enough chances so that I don’t miss out on any opportunities, but I’m also not trying to plan too far ahead. So when I’m asked, “where do you want to be in 10 years?,” I guess I would just have to say I don’t really know. I have a general idea of the details like I listed above, but overall, in 10 years I just want to be happy. I want to have my life a lot more figured out than I do now, and I want to be spending my time with people that I love. I want how I’m going to pay my rent or my bills to be the last of my worries and just living my life day to day how I please to be my main concern.

One thought on “Day 2: Where do you want to be in 1o years?

  1. This is something I just recently realized. No amount of success can define my life and I too, just want to be happy with people I love. If I’m happy then anything bad can happen and it will just be a little bump on the way, not a giant life change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

