Losing your friends to their significant other.

It seems like the older I am getting, the more of my friends are getting into relationships that are extremely time consuming and serious. I fully support them all, and for the most part, I am good friends with all of their significant others as well as with them. Personally, I have not been in relationship in a little over two years. I have spent a ton of my time with a couple of different guys over this period of time, but we never officially labeled ourselves as a couple. Maybe it’s because I have not been in relationship that was labeled as such in so long, but I still can’t seem to figure out why young people neglect their friendships when they start getting serious with someone else.

I fully understand that when a friend starts dating someone that you will not see them as much as you once did because part of their time is now dedicated to the person that they are in a relationship with. However, what I do not understand is how people completely stop putting an effort into their friendships when they start dating someone. It’s heartbreaking to me to watch it happen with so many people that I was once close to. Friends with always be there. But relationships don’t always work out. I just wish that friendships were values as much as relationships are.

One thought on “Losing your friends to their significant other.

Leave a Reply

