Expectations & Realizations

I just overheard the quote, “the key to having it all is to stop expecting it to look like what you thought it was going to look like.”

Read this 10x’s over and let it resonate.

If anyone else is anything at all like myself, I get so caught up in my expectations for everything, that I end up being so disappointed in reality that it makes me me unhappy with my life and how things are going, even when they aren’t really that bad. It’s like this with everything. Men, plans, clothes, cooking, family. Anything you can think of, my expectations are always extremely high.

I’m not saying that I shouldn’t have expectations. Expectations are important, and all though they shouldn’t be everything, it is important to have some type of goal for how things turn out. But overall, they should not dictate your happiness or your life.

Just make sure that your expectations are not the focus of everything. Keep them in mind, but do not let them dictate you. Nothing will ever live up to your expectations; it will either surpass them or be lower than them. Either way, the key is to keep going.

 

Leave a Reply

