A handful of things that my father taught me

Lately, I’ve come to realize how many valuable lessons my dad had taught me and that I never even noticed. He passed away the summer before my senior year of high school. I was only 17, and I hadn’t yet fully comprehended all of the things that he had taught me and how much they would mean to me later on. It’s really been weighing on me lately that I can’t let him know how much I appreciate him for all that he taught me. I miss my dad every day. I often find myself still wanting to call him and tell him about something that happened to me or that I thought he would find funny. Not being able to do this really sucks sometimes, but writing about it definitely helps. Having said that, here is a list of a few things that my father taught me, that I would thank him for if he were still here.

  • Instead of blowing up on someone when you’re angry, just take a step back and a deep breath before responding. A lesson that has come in very handy while having 4 room mates at one time in college.
  • Being strong for others is sometimes more important than expressing all of your emotions to them.
  • There is a way to fix anything.
  • It’s okay to want to be alone. You should never feel obligated to spend time with someone that you don’t want to.
  • Calling someone just to see how they are or to let them know that you were thinking of them can have a big impact, even if it’s a small gesture.
  • Even if you do everything right, you don’t always get what you deserve. But that doesn’t mean that you should ever give up.
  • The most insignificant questions bring you the most unexpected answers.
  • Lighten the mood as much as you possibly can.
  • Tough love is necessary.
  • Your favorite movie is just as good the 10th time that you watch it.
  • Be picky with who you say “I love you” to.
  • Always stand up for yourself.
  • Good manners will take you further than you think.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

