You’re not being needy, you’re being human

Romantic relationships have always been something of a complicated nature to me.This probably has something to do with my awkwardness or incredibly bad timing, but regardless, it seems as though recently, they’ve become 1000x’s more complicated. I’m blaming this on the growing sense of apathy that is taking over our society and our participation in hook up culture.

tumblr_nyr348M5Z01uy8uyao1_500

I don’t want to be a hypocrite, so I do have to admit that I do take part in hook up culture. I also can’t deny the fact that I sometimes find the same apathy that has taken over our society resides in myself as well. When trying to piece all of this together, I can’t help but ask the question, why is it so easy to end up in a stranger’s bed but it’s so difficult to admit that we have actual feelings for another person? When you think about it, it’s completely ridiculous. The fact that our generation is not supposed to feel any emotion. If this keeps up, pretty soon the world is going to be filled with sociopaths and commitment issues.

I’m not saying that you’re wrong if you sleep with someone and feel nothing. Sometimes it really is just about the sex, and I think that’s completely fine. You don’t have to commit to every person that you sleep with. But if you consistently sleep with someone for a drawn out period of time, why is it seen as needy and clingy when you start to genuinely have feelings for that person? I mean, it’s not clingy at all, it’s perfectly normal. You should never feel bad that you like another person. The fact that society tells us we should is complete uttter bulishit.

 

Leave a Reply

